Introduction: How to Make Upcycled Puzzle Piece Earrings

About: Hi! I'm Geoff! I'm an electrical engineer with a passion for making things. I believe that creating is for everyone, and I love being able to share what I've learned to enable others to pursue their passions. …

Hello, and thank you for checking out my instructable! This is my first instructable for a while, so bear with me if I'm a little rusty with the formatting. But enough with the introduction, you probably want to know more about this project and how to make it right? Well don't worry, I've got you covered.

"So what are we making exactly?"

Glad you asked! Today we will be making upcycled earrings from old puzzle pieces! (These ones are STARWARS themed!!!) This is a great (and quite fashionable) way to reuse old puzzles sitting around the house. They don't have to be Star Wars, they can actually be from any puzzle that you'd like, but now I'm getting ahead of myself so let's move onto the parts list! :)

Step 1: Gather Your Supplies!

Let's get to making! But first, you'll need stuff to make earrings with. Here's everything I'll be using in this project:

• Old Puzzle
  • Jump Rings
  • Ear Hooks

For the puzzle I used a really cool Star Wars puzzle, but you can use any kind of puzzle you want. I really liked this puzzle because it has actual frames from the original trilogy on each piece! One suggestion when picking out puzzles for earrings: Try to pick puzzles with lots of small details that show up really well on individual pieces. A blurry gray puzzle piece will not look near as cool as a bright and colorful one!

Step 2: Collect Your Tools!

For this project, we don't need much in the way of tools:

• 2 Pliers
  • 1 Thumbtack
  • Hammer (not pictured)

(Pliers are optional, but very useful. If you don't have any, just use your hands!)

Step 3: Puncture the Puzzle Piece