Introduction: Lightning Bolt Through Light Bulb

About: My name is Troy. I'm a Mechatronics and Aerospace Engineer. I make things out of wood and electronics and spend time outdoors (especially SCUBA diving).

After making the infamous Arrow Through the Coke Bottle six months ago, I wanted to make something similar but original. Having a fondness of electricity and simplistic minimalistic shapes, the combination of this solid wood lightning bolt and glass light bulb fit perfectly.

If you like seeing how impossible objects are made (and how to make your own), you will love this solution!

Step 1: Tools and Materials

Materials:

Tools:

Step 2: Wooden Lightning Bolt

Download the attached PDF template and adhere it to a 1/2 inch pine board. Cut it out on a bandsaw or scrollsaw. Remove the template and sand the lightning bolt smooth.

Step 3: Bulb Holder

In a small bucket, make a holder that will assist holding the light bulb underwater for the drilling and filing process. This step is shown with a real light bulb as that was the original plan for this project, I will talk more about why this didn't work in step 8.

Drill a two inch hole in a scrap piece of wood that fits in the small bucket. Double this up and cut out one side to create the holder that will allow the light bulb to nest in the wood.

Attach another board on the back of the holder to index the location of the hole through the stem of the bulb.

Hold a piece of rubber (bicycle inner tube) to the bottom of the holder to seal the bottom of bucket when attaching it with screws.

Step 4: Drill Holes

Fill the bucket with water and place it on the drill press. Keeping the glass below water, drill with a 9/16 inch or 14 millimeter diamond drill bit. Use light pressure with your drill running about 1000 RPM to cut the hole. When one hole is complete, rotate the bulb and drill the second hole.

Step 5: Lightning Bolts